Winner( Korean :위너; stylized asWINNER) is a five-member South Korean male group formed in 2014 by YG Entertainment . The group's five members are Kang Seung-yoon , Song Min-ho , Nam Taehyun , Kim Jinwoo , and Lee Seunghoon .The group was first introduced in the reality-survival program calledWho is Next: WINas "Team A." Team A and their adversaries Team B were both formed from trainees within YG Entertainment. The teams competed against each other in order to debut as the first YG boy group in eight years, following on the strong legacy of YG's previously debuted male group Big Bang . At the conclusion of the program the title of "WINNER" was given to Team A after they won all three rounds of public voting.After several delays, the group made their Korean debut on August 15 at YG Family Concert and following their broadcast debut on August 17 with their first official stage on Inkigayo , while their Japanese debut is scheduled for September 10.