Speed (South Korean band)

: 스피드; commonly stylized as SPE

Speed( Korean : 스피드; commonly stylized asSPEED) is a sub-unit of the South Korean idol group Coed School . Its members are all male: Kwanghaeng, Yoosung, Taewoon (Leader), Noori, Sungmin and the addition of two new members: Jongkook and Saejoon.The name "SPEED" was chosen by the members because it expresses their determination to "continue the race without getting tired".

 Recent news about Speed (South Korean band)

 Speed (South Korean band)'s History

2010: Coed School Debut

Coed School debuted in October 2010 with the single "Too Late". Their debut mini album,Something That Is Cheerful and Fresh, was released on October 28, 2010.

2011: Sub-units and Kangho's departure

Core Contents Media announced that they will be dividing the group in two sub-units in early-2011. The four female members of Coed, Soomi; Chan Mi; Hyoyoung and Hyewon, debuted first with the addition of new member Eunkyo. They made a comeback in mid-2011 which delayed the debut of Coed's male sub-unit.

On November 4, it was announced that member Kangho would be leaving the group in order to focus on an acting career, which delayed the debut of the group even further.Kangho was later replaced by Superstar K3 contestant Shin Jong Kook. Core Contents Media stated that their debut would be delayed until early-2012.

2012: Debut and management change

In late January, it was announced that SPEED will be covering T-ara 's single "Lovey-Dovey" under the title "Lovey-Dovey Plus". The song was remixed and rearranged to include the members' own rap and song lyrics.

Coed School underwent a series of changes in February, starting with the group's management being transferred to GM Content Media; a Core Contents Media sub-label managed by CEO Kwon Shi Bong.Coed and 5dolls' leader Soomi decided to leave the group in order to pursue a solo career, remaining under Core Contents Media. This made Kwanghaeng the new leader of Coed School. Two new members, Nayeon and Saejoon, were added to the line-up. Nayeon would be taking Soomi's place in both 5dolls and Coed School,while Saejoon will be joining the members of SPEED to promote as a seven-member group.

Read more

 Speed (South Korean band)'s Members


Stage nameBirth nameDate of birthNotes
Kanghaeng강행Lee Kwanghaeng이광행(1990-01-20)January 20, 1990(age 22) Tallest member in Coed, had cameo roles in the movieDeath Bell 2and dramaCoffee House.
Jungwoo정우Kim Jungwoo김정우(1990-05-09)May 9, 1990(age 22) Was a trainee under F&C Entertainment.
Taewoon태운Woo Jiseok우지석(1990-05-11)May 11, 1990(age 22) Brother is Block B 's Zico (Rapper) , had a minor role inCan You Hear My Heart.
Inoh인오Kang Inoh강인오(1993-03-03)March 3, 1993(age 19) Was featured in T-ara 's " Roly-Poly " and " Bo Peep Bo Peep (Japanese ver.) " MVs.
Sungmin성민Choi Sungmin최성민(1995-12-07)December 7, 1995(age 16) Youngest member.
Jongkook종국Shin Jongkook신종국(1993-09-08)September 8, 1993(age 18) Superstar K3 finalist. Added after the departure of Kangho.
Saejoon세준Park Sejoon박세준1993 Added along with Nayeon.


Stage nameBirth nameDate of birthNotes
Kangho강호Park Yongsoo박용수(1991-12-14)December 14, 1991(age 20) Left the group to pursue an acting career.

Read more

 Speed (South Korean band)'s Discography


YearSinglePeak Chart PositionAlbum
2012 "Lovey-Dovey Plus"140Hommage To Lovey Dovey (Digital Single)

Read more

 Speed (South Korean band)'s References

  1. (Korean) 남녀공학 남자유닛 스피드 '슈스케' 신종국 합류, 이색예명 사용안한다 Newsen. February 8, 2012.
  2. (Korean) '남녀공학' 합류 신종국, 내년3월 팀내 男유닛출격 StarNews. November 4, 2011.
  3. (Korean) 남녀공학, 티아라 ‘러비더비’ 리메이크 ‘눈길’ Naver. January 31, 2012.
  4. (Korean) [http://www.newsen.com/news_view.php?uid=201202171217121001 남녀공학, 코어→지엠컨텐츠 소속사 이적 왜?[포토엔] ] StarNews.. February 17, 2012.
  5. (Korean) [http://reviewstar.hankooki.com/Article/ArticleView.php?WEB_GSNO=10025627 파이브돌스 멤버교체 "수미 탈퇴 나연 합류" 팀 성공으로 이끌까? ] Hankooki.. February 17, 2012.

Read more


We welcome your comments, but please be civil, DO NOT SPAM ON TOPIC. Comments deemed inappropriate will be removed and repeat will banned. Commention is a provilege that will be revoked for violations od our Comment Policy .

Comments from our old comments platform are still in the process of moving over. If you notice any comments missing they will likely re-appear soon. Thnk you for your patience.