Nell (band)


Nell( Hangul : 넬) is a South Korean indie rock band. Formed in 1999, the band consists of Kim Jong-wan on vocals , guitar and keyboard , Lee Jae-kyung on lead guitar , Lee Jung-hoon on bass guitar and Jung Jae-won on drum .While performing at live clubs in Hongdae , they were picked up by Seo Tai-ji , and soon became the first band of Goesoo Indigene record label in 2002. In 2006, the band decided to finish their contract with Goesoo Indigene and they are currently signed with Woollim Entertainment .The band is heavily influenced by numerous British bands such as Radiohead , Placebo , Travis , and Muse . They also performed number of covers of Muse, Coldplay , Sting , and Bob Dylan during their gigs.Nell has participated in both 2006 and 2007 Pentaport Rock Festival of South Korea, where Placebo and Muse also performed each year.The band is known for their gloomy and psychedelic sound, and gained their fame with tracks like “Stay” fromLet It Rain, “Thank You” fromWalk Through Me, "Good Night" fromHealing Processand “기억을 걷는 시간” fromSeparation Anxiety. Their 2006 album 'Healing Process'was chosen as one of five best recordings of the yearamong critics of South Korea. Nell's 2008 album "Separation Anxiety" was a hit in South Korea, ranking No.1 in various album charts.After the long hiatus, they released their 5th studio album titledSlip Awayon April 10, 2012 with the title track, "그리고 남겨진 것들" (The Day Before). Its Music Video starring Lee Min-ki and Song Jae Rim but none of Nell members appeared. Slip Away was a hit in South Korea, placed top rank in various album charts, such as Mnet , Bugs , and Olleh Music.Kim Jong Wan featured in G-Dragon 's song "Today" in his 2012 album One of a Kind .On November 22, 2012, Nell’s official homepage included a new picture signaling Nell’s comeback. The picture showed a large moon that had a kind of explosion going on. Nell’s new album will be titledHolding onto Gravityand will be released on December 3.On December 2, 2012, Woolim's Youtube official account released White Night MV starring Lim Soo-jung .

 Recent news about Nell (band)

 Nell (band)'s Members

  • Kim Jong-wan ( Hangul : 김종완): Vocals , Guitar , Keyboard
  • Lee Jae-kyung ( Hangul : 이재경): Lead guitar
  • Lee Jung-hoon ( Hangul : 이정훈): Bass guitar
  • Jung Jae-won ( Hangul : 정재원): Drums

Read more

 Nell (band)'s Discography

Studio Major albums

  • 2003:Let It Rain
  • 2004:Walk Through Me
  • 2006:Healing Process
  • 2008:Separation Anxiety
  • 2012:Slip Away

Indie albums

  • 2001:Reflection of
  • 2001:Speechless

Mini Albums/EP

  • 2007:Let's Take a WalkRe-arranged Album
  • 2012:Holding Onto Gravity


  • 2008:The TraceSpecial Edition


  • Walking Time to Remember- Four Colors of Love OST

Album appearances and featurings

2005 Swan Songs
  • Released: October 5, 2005
  • Language:Korean
Track 11: "Let It Rain" Epik Highfeat. Kim Jong-wan of Nell
2007 Remapping the Human Soul
  • Released: January 23, 2007
  • Language:Korean
Part 2
Track 13: "행복합니다 (I'm Happy)"
Epik Highfeat. Kim Jong-wan of Nell
2010 Hurricane Venus
  • Released: August 5, 2010
  • Language:Korean
Track 7: "한별 (Implode)" BoA

Composed by Kim Jong-wan of Nell

2012 One of a Kind
  • Released: September 18, 2012
  • Language:Korean
Track 6: "Today" G-Dragonfeat. Kim Jong-wan of Nell
2012 Another Me
  • Released: November 19, 2012
  • Language:Korean
Track 5: "Shine" Sung-gyu ofInfinite (band)

Composed by Kim Jong-wan of Nell

Read more

 Nell (band)'s Awards

  • 2004 Korean Music Awards(2회 시상식): Artist of the Year(Group) Nominee -Walk Through Me
  • 2006 Korean Music Awards(4회 시상식): Artist of the Year(Group) Nominee -Healing Process
  • 2006 Korean Music Awards(4회 시상식): Best Modern Rock Album Nominee -Healing Process
  • 2007 Korean Music Awards(5회 시상식): Best Modern Rock Artist of the Year Picked by Netizens -Let's Take a Walk
  • 2008 23rd Golden Disk Award : Best Rock Award

Read more


We welcome your comments, but please be civil, DO NOT SPAM ON TOPIC. Comments deemed inappropriate will be removed and repeat will banned. Commention is a provilege that will be revoked for violations od our Comment Policy .

Comments from our old comments platform are still in the process of moving over. If you notice any comments missing they will likely re-appear soon. Thnk you for your patience.