Royal Pirates

로얄 파이랫츠

Royal Pirates(로열 파이럿츠) is a Korean-American rock band debuted in 2013. The band consists of Kim Moon-chul ( vocals , guitar ), Kim Soo-yoon ( drums ), and James Lee ( bass guitar ).

 Recent news about Royal Pirates

 Royal Pirates's Members

Member List
Stage NameFull NameDate of birthBlood TypePlace of birthPosition
James제임스李珠鉉이주현 Joohyun James Lee (1988-06-09)June 9, 1988(age 26)A LA, CA, USA Bass, Guitar, Chorus
Moon金門哲김문철 Kim Moon Chul (1988-09-02)September 2, 1988(age 26)O Incheon Metropolitan City, Korea Leader, Lead Vocalist, Guitar
Soo Yoon수윤金洙尹김수윤 Kim Soo Yoon (1989-12-17)December 17, 1989(age 24)A Seoul, Korea Drums, Guitar, Chorus

Read more

 Royal Pirates's History

2004-2008: Fading From Dawnedit

The group was formerly known as Fading From Dawn from 2004 with the guitarist-vocalist Kim Moon-chul, drummer Kim Soo-yoon and bassist Richard Kim, Moon-chul's older brother. They used to play at several Korean events such as the annual Korean Festival in Orange County. After Richard's death in April 2008 in a car accident in Pomona, California , they rarely played live anymore since they had no bass player.

2009-2012: Popularity, YouTube and Demo releasesedit

With their talent and originality, Royal Pirates gained fame on YouTube by uploading covers. In September 2008, Moon-chul and Soo-yoon posted their first cover "Time is Running Out" by Muse on their YouTube account. After that, they kept uploading rock versions of hit songs such as "Nobody" by Wonder Girls , "Mirotic" by DBSK , and "Circus" by Britney Spears , the latter reached 18 thousand viewers in just two weeks and was also featured on Britney's homepage.

Their first original demo was released on the internet was "Royal Villain". Soo-yoon's song "Like Butterflies" was also released soon after.

In May 2009, Royal Pirates appeared on Korean News Channel YTN where they were presented as an independent rock band which became a new YouTube sensation, getting over ten thousand views with their powerful instrumentals and brilliant videos.

They covered the song "Sorry Sorry" by Super Junior in Spring 2009 and after the video was posted on the Korean website Cyworld , the band received an invitation from the writer of Star King to appear on their show. However, the band declined the invitation since they had "major conflicts with school" and "scheduling was difficult for both of [them]". Also, they did not want to leave the image of a "Cover Band" to the world and to Korea.

James Lee joined Royal Pirates as a bassist in September 2009 and in October 2009, Royal Pirates appeared on KOME channel to introduce their new bassist.

In March 2010, Royal Pirates released the music video for their new original song and demo "Disappear". They declared that "This is not the actual debut of Royal Pirates. This MV was made independently for the fans and also for promotion of the band."

2013-present: Debutedit

Royal Pirates made their Korean debut on August 25th 2013 atInkigayowith their digital single"Shout Out".

On January 15th 2014, Royal Pirates released their first EP in Korea"Drawing The Line".

On March 24th 2014, Royal Pirates released their first album in Japan"Shout Out", which also included English versions of the songsShout Out,Drawing The LineandFly To You.

Read more

 Royal Pirates's Discography

Digital Single

Single #INFO.Track List
1stDebut Single《Shout Out
  • Release Date: August 26, 2013
  • Language: Korean
2ndBetting Everything
  • Release Date: July 21, 2014
  • Language: Korean, English
3rd서울촌놈 (Seoul Hillbilly)
  • Release Date: August 14, 2014
  • Language: Korean

Mini Album

Album #INFO.Track List
1stDrawing the Line
  • Release Date: January 15, 2014
  • Language: Korean, English
2ndLove Toxic
  • Release Date: August 27, 2014
  • Language: Korean, English

Mini Album (Japan)

Album #INFO.Track List
1stDebut Album《Shout Out (JP)
  • Release Date: March 24, 2014
  • Language: Korean, English

Album (Taiwan)

Album #INFO.Track List
  • Release Date: September 19, 2014
  • Language: Korean, English

Read more

 Royal Pirates's Videography

Music Videoedit

Publishing DateTrack Name
August 25, 2013 Shout Out (Synth Rock Version)
January 14, 2014 Drawing The Line
January 16, 2014 Drawing The Line (Band Version)
July 31, 2014 Betting Everything Acoustic Ver
August 13, 2014 서울 촌놈 (Seoul Hillbilly)
August 26, 2014 사랑에 빠져 (Love Toxic)
August 31, 2014 사랑에 빠져 (Love Toxic) (Performance ver.)

Exclusive Videoedit

RP TVedit

Read more


We welcome your comments, but please be civil, DO NOT SPAM ON TOPIC. Comments deemed inappropriate will be removed and repeat will banned. Commention is a provilege that will be revoked for violations od our Comment Policy .

Comments from our old comments platform are still in the process of moving over. If you notice any comments missing they will likely re-appear soon. Thnk you for your patience.