Supernova (South Korean band)

<a href=hangul: 초신성" title="Supernova (South Korean band)" class="main" style="width:100%"/>

Supernova( hangul : 초신성) is a South Korean boy band formed under Mnet Media in 2006. The group composed of six member: Jung Yunhak, Kim Sungje, Kim Kwangsoo, Yoon Sungmo, Song Jihyuk and Park Geonil.Its six members specialized in the areas of singing, dance, acting, rap and pop. The group official debuted with performed HIT on KBS Musik Bank on September 21, 2007.

 Recent news about Supernova (South Korean band)

 Supernova (South Korean band)'s History


Before it became Supernova, it was a 5-member group named GM5. The group was composed of Park Geonil, Kim Sung Je, Kim Gwangsu, Song Jihyuk, Han Ji Hoo. In December 2006, there was changes in the members, Ji Hoo was removed from the group and replaced by Jung Yoonhak and Kim Jinchul (Jinon of F.Cuz ). They performed in BIG4 Concert as GM6. In December 2006, Kim Jinchul was removed from the group and replaced by an older trainee, Yoon Sungmo.

2007–2009: Debut withThe Beautiful Stardust, Japanese debutedit

Supernova made their official debut stage with performed "HIT" on the music program Music Bank on September 21. Supernova release debut albumThe Beautiful Starduston September 25, 2007 with title track "Hit".

On 24 July 2008, the group visited Thailand for their first time, participating in showcases and other events.

On September 14, 2009, Supernova collaborated with T-ara to release a digital single, "T.T.L. (Time To Love)", a hip-hop song with electronic sounds. Among the members, only GeonIl, Kwang Soo and JiHyuk, together with T-ara's SoYeon , Hyomin , EunJung and Jiyeon were involved in this project. During the month of September, the seven of them actively promoted the song on the various music shows. A remix version of the song, "T.T.L. Listen 2", was released on October 9, with the MV featuring all the members from both groups. Even though the rest of the members (from both groups) did not have active parts in the remix version, all 12 participated in the song promotions from October onwards.

Supernova made their Japanese debut in September 2009 with three singles released over three consecutive weeks: "Kimidake wo Zutto", "Hikari", and "Superstar ~Reborn~". The first two singles are new releases, while "Superstar ~Reborn~" is a Japanese remix of their Korean single "Superstar". They released their first Japanese album, titledHana, on October 21.

2010–2012:Time To Shine,Stupid Love, Yunhak's Solo debut,She's Goneand Sungje's Injuryedit

Supernova released their fourth Japanese single, "Last Kiss", in January 2010. The single's b-side "Ai Uta" (愛唄) is a cover of Japanese hip-hop group, GReeeN 's song of the same name. Supernova's first mini-albumTime To Shinewas released on August 17 and its was music video for title track "On Days That I Missed You". A day later, Supernova also release fifth Japanese single "Shining Star". They held their "Choshinsei Show 2010" in Yokohama Arena on December 21, 2010 with around 13.000 fans attended the concert.

In late 2010, Five members (except Yoonhak as he was busy filming "Love Kimchi") filmed their part for SBS new medical drama "SIGN" Geonil play as "Seo Yoon Hyung" leader of popular group, "VOICE" who was murdered during the group concert.

In early 2011, each member was focusing on more on individual activities in both Korea and Japan. Sungje was cast in "I Really Really Like You" with T-ara 's Boram . Kwangsoo was cast on "Real School" sitcom with U-Kiss 's Dongho , Kiseop and Eli . Following Sungje, Sungmo was cast in the "Coronation Ball" musical. Leader Yoonhak made himself busy by preparing for his Japanese drama, "Love Kimchi", which was broadcast for NHK's 70th Anniversary. He was also cast in a musical titled "Finding Kim Jong Wook" in Korea. Kwangsoo and Sungmo were both chosen as "K-Pop Zone" MC broadcast by MNet Japan. Jihyuk is also cast in the drama "Bachelor's Vegetable Store" as Yoon Ho-Jae.

During military service, Yunhak release his first Japanese single "Again" on March 21, 2012. on April 17, 2012 Supernova released their mini albumStupid Love, after a long break from promoting in Korea.

. They made their official comeback in M! Countdown on August 9. When the promotion, Sungje took painkillers to endure the pain he acquired through an ankle injury.On December 19, Supernova released collection album "Supernova Collection", which contains 2 disc. First disc are compilation song from their previous album,and disc two contain 6 solo songs.


Supernova's sixth Japanese album "SIX" was released on December 3, 2013.

Yunhak then released his next album "REAL" on June 29, 2016, while Sungje worked on releasing his first solo album "It's Time" which came out on August 10, 2016.

Read more

 Supernova (South Korean band)'s Members

  • Jung Yunhak (정윤학), Spica Yunhak
  • Kim Sungje (김성제), Sirius Sungje
  • Kim Kwangsoo (김광수), Becrux Kwangsoo
  • Yoon Sungmo (윤성모), Vega Sungmo
  • Jihyuk (Song Hunyong; 송헌용), Acrux Jihyuk
  • Park Geonil (박건일), Canopus Geonil

Read more

 Supernova (South Korean band)'s Discography


  • The Beautiful Stardust(2007)


  • Hana(2009)
  • Six Stars (★★★★★★)(2010)
  • Hop Step Jumping!(2010)
  • 4U(2011)
  • Go for It!(2012)
  • SIX(2013)
  • 7IRO(2015)

Read more

 Supernova (South Korean band)'s Awards

  • Cyworld Digital Music Awards : Ting's Choice Artist award <TTL>
  • 1st KOMCA Music Award : Hallyu Music Award
  • 26th Golden Disk Awards : K-POP Award in Digital Music

Read more


We welcome your comments, but please be civil, DO NOT SPAM ON TOPIC. Comments deemed inappropriate will be removed and repeat will banned. Commention is a provilege that will be revoked for violations od our Comment Policy .

Comments from our old comments platform are still in the process of moving over. If you notice any comments missing they will likely re-appear soon. Thnk you for your patience.